

# 2023 MO Session: Week One January 6, 2023

## Missouri's 2023 Session Underway

The 2023 legislative session officially kicked off Wednesday, January 4. Braden Heidner Lowe and Associates is proud to strengthen the legislative awareness of APWA Kansas City members for both sides of the metroplex's border. Kansas' legislative session begins on Monday, January 9.

Legislation that will be tracked during session pertains to transportation, water, first-responder and right of way policy.

For Missouri, over 1,200 bills have been pre-filed though the legislative committee rosters have not been announced. The legislative leadership is as follows:

#### Senate Leadership

#### Republicans:

President Pro Tem – Senator Caleb Rowden (R-Columbia) Majority Floor Leader – Senator Cindy O'Laughlin (R-Shelbina) Assistant Majority Floor Leader – Senator Jason Bean (R-Pemiscot) Majority Caucus Whip – Senator Karla Eslinger (R-Wasola) Majority Caucus Chairman – Senator Tony Luetkemeyer Majority Caucus Secretary – Senator Sandy Crawford (R-Buffalo)

#### Democrats:

Minority Floor Leader – Senator John Rizzo (D-Kansas City) Assistant Minority Floor Leader – Senator Doug Beck (D-St. Louis) Minority Caucus Chairwoman – Senator Angela Mosley (D-Florissant) Minority Caucus Whip – Senator Steven Roberts (D-St. Louis)

#### House Leadership:

## Republicans

Speaker of the House – Representative Dean Plocher (R-St. Louis) Speaker Pro Tem – Representative Mike Henderson (R-Bonne Terre) Floor Leader – Representative Jon Patterson (R-Lee's Summit) Assistant Floor Leader – Representative Jamie Burger (R-Scott) Caucus Chair – Representative Chris Dinkins (R-Lesterville) Majority Whip – Representative Hardy Billington (R-Poplar Bluff) Majority Secretary – Representative Ann Kelley (R-Lamar)

### Democrats

Minority Floor Leader - Rep. Crystal Quade (D-Springfield) Assistant Minority Floor Leader - Rep Richard Brown (D-Kansas City) Minority Caucus Whip – Representative Ashley Aune (D-Kansas City) Minority Caucus Chair - Ingrid Burnett (D-Kansas City) Minority Caucus Vice-Chair – Representative Emily Weber (D-Kansas City) Minority Caucus Secretary – Representative Gretchen Bangert (D-Florissant) Minority Caucus Policy Chair – Representative Jamie Johnson (D-Kansas City)

## Bills of Interest Filed this Week:

Emergency Responders https://www.govwatch.net/report/27445

Water https://www.govwatch.net/report/27446

Right of Way https://www.govwatch.net/report/27447

Transportation https://www.govwatch.net/report/27448

Workforce Development https://www.govwatch.net/report/27449